Booking Through Thursday

Booking Through Thursday is a meme created at the blog of the same name that poses a different question about reading each week.

This week’s questions is: Ever read a book you thought you could have written better yourself?

I doubt anyone who answers this in the negative is being truthful, because honestly we’ve all come across books that, for one reason or another, we believe could be improved upon. The mere fact that we are book bloggers means we have the requisite creativity and earnestness for the thought “I could have done better” to flit through our heads even briefly.

But the thing that matters is that, at least in my case, I didn’t do better. Ultimately, whether I think highly of my potential creative writing chops or not, the fact of the matter is that I haven’t attempted to write a novel, and others have. I doff my hat to all those who have already achieved what I can only dream of one day achieving. The task seems insurmountable at this point in my life, and I’m in no place to criticize when I haven’t even attempted the feat at all. So job well done, authors, for taking a chance, regardless of the results.

One thought on “Booking Through Thursday

  1. I’ve read some non-fiction that I think I could have written better. When it comes to fiction, if I didn’t like the way the story was written, odds are I didn’t care much for the story and wouldn’t have wanted to waste my time writing it. Now of course if I were well paid I might consider it.

    Lee
    An A to Z Co-Host
    Tossing It Out
    Twitter: @AprilA2Z
    #atozchallenge

Leave a comment