yeahwehadatime:

From Perrier to Penguins

Perrier award winner Noel Feilding gives an insight into his warped and desperate world…

Ask your average person if they had a good journey, they’ll probably just say “yeah” or “alright.” Not Noel Fielding. “It was quite funny. You know how you can never find a double seat with a table, and I thought, ‘I need one of them, because I’m sitting her for two hours’, and I got there, and there was one, and I ran to it, and thought ‘yay!’, but then o looked round me, and I thought, ‘Oh, I see what’s happening.’ It was like a small child’s playground, and it as just full of little kids, and it was obviously a school trip, and the noise was deafening. I was reading this book, and it was like being in a swimming pool, you know that noise, “Raahh!’ And then there were throwing stuff, and drawing, and eating bits of wood. Then they got off at Coventry, and it was like a church after that. It was great.” This is not your average answer. Then again, Noel Fielding is not your average bloke. If you are unfamiliar with Mr. Fielding, then it is about time you were enlightened. Along with his partner in crime, Julian Barratt (the barman in the Metz ad who explains was a “judder” is), Noel won the Perrier Best Newcomer award at this year’s Edinburgh festival, with their show, “The Mighty Boosh”. He also happens to be one of the funniest men in the country, and one of Britain’s most original comics. Imagine a small child living in a fantasy world of their own. When C.S. Lewis passes away, he was probably reincarnated as Noel’s brain. From his mouth spills fantastic and incredulous stories about backwards rams legs, vicious biscuits and an animal kingdom retold like “The Really Wild Show” if directed by Terry Gilliam. Try and imagine Narnia being visits by a happy Hunter S. Thompson, or David Lynch on Prozac. It’s not conventionally funny, but it will have you creased up, with tears rolling from your eyes like fat businessmen escaping from a sinking boat. Genius humor. A true alternative form of comedy, Noel seems quite humble about this. “I quite like nonsense. There was a whole generation, a whole tradition in England of Edward Lear and ‘Alice in Wonderland’ and ‘The Lion, The Witch And The Wardrobe’, and that kind of stuff, and so there’s quite a big generation of nonsense and surreal kind of art. I mean, I went to art college, so I was into my great Dali’s and lot’s of surreal stuff. I dunno, I’m always fascinated by stuff that’s just imagined, and powered by imagination, rather than facts. I quite like some comedians who just do hard-hitting stuff, political stuff, but I much prefer people who talk about things that I couldn’t possible have thoughts of, which are interesting to me. When a comedian goes ‘So, anyway, you know when your girlfriend does this?’, and you think, ‘God, yeah, but I don’t wanna know; I don’t need you to tell me that my girlfriend always does this.’ It’s like I live, and my girlfriend does that, and I’ve had sex, and I’ve got stoned, and I’ve done all these things. I much prefer someone to come on and go, ‘You know when you have a massive suit made out of leather, and you’re on a golf course in the middle of the night…’, and you go, ‘Hang on; this might be quite good.’ So, if you’re going to pay money to see someone talking, which is essentially what stand up is, they might as well be talking about something you couldn’t have thought of. That’s my theory,” he finishes, before looking slightly embarrassed and grinning.

Keep reading

Leave a Reply

