Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme created over at The Broke and the Bookish that allows us to list our top ten answers to a different question each week.

This week’s theme is: Top Ten Posts I Think Give You the Best Glimpse of Me

Given the fact that I just got back from the Wizarding World and am still lamenting immersion back into every-day life, this post is a given. I also really wish that I had come upon one like it before I make my own journey down to Orlando.

The Nightrunner series is hands-down the best literary discovery I’ve made this year, so my excitement when Ms. Flewelling responded to my interview query was through the roof. I adored being able to converse not only with the wonderful author who had brought some of my favorite characters to life, but with those very characters as well. The best part, though, was how she took my leads and ran with them, making this interview a true discussion among the four of us (that would be Ms. Flewelling, Seregil, Thero, and myself).

Continuing the author theme, Ms. Crane was the first author to consent to an interview, and I couldn’t have been more delighted. She also gave me the opportunity to have a little chat with my favorite character from her wonderful Disillusionists series, which made the book nerd in me squeal with glee.

Ms. Elliott was the first author to reach out to me and offer me a review copy of her novel. I’d already ready and loved the first in the series, so it was an honor to be given the chance to voice my thoughts on her latest book. The fact that she used a pull-out quote from my review on her blog on the book’s release day was the greatest thrill.

Really, this is the greatest book purchase of my many years of collecting dusty tomes. Perhaps I’m bragging a bit, but I can’t help myself.

I’d just discovered this series when I started blogging, so it was on heavy rotation in my thoughts. When I happened upon a Deviantart gallery that perfectly portrayed the characters as I imaginged them, I knew I needed these beautiful images on my blog. I really need to start digging for more fanart creations for future posts, as I love the juxtaposition of different art forms.

I’ve only posted one of these features so far, but rest assured, I am always planning ways to incorporate food and design into my film and literature obsessions. I’ve got a bunch on the backburner waiting to be posted, but this Harry Potter themed night gives a good representation of the extent to which I will geek out when I enjoy something.

My lonely attempt at a meme that has never quite caught on, I’m still enamored of the idea of spotlighting literary couples who seem to fly under the radar. This is probably my number one couple in that regard.

I’m a very visual reader, and I can’t help but cast novels in my head as I read. This was my first attempt at sharing my visions of a series with readers, and also the first of many BDB-themed posts that made their way onto my blog in the beginning.

10. All of my reviews

I cannot pick one. Whenever I attempt to pick one, the others insistently nudge me with a sentence or a remembrance that makes it impossible to choose. So please, if you find our reading tastes to be similar, perhaps take a peek at my back catalogue and comment. I’d love to hear your thoughts!

 

Leave a Reply

