Booking Through Thursday

Booking Through Thursday is a meme created at the blog of the same name that poses a different question about reading each week.

This week’s questions is:

Two questions about selecting your books.
Pooch asks:

Overall, what factor most influences your choice of your next read?

Sefcug asks:

What is it that makes you want to read a book by an author you have never read before?

As an avid reader and, especially, as a book blogger, far more factors go into my reading decisions than mere interest. I have review copies that I have to read before release dates, NetGalley titles that have expiration dates, and untested authors or series taking up valuable shelf space that I might not wind up loving (the quest to free up space for more books is ruthless and neverending). However, ultimately, no matter how many books are piling up in my TBR list, I simply can’t get motivated to read unless the books matches my mood at the moment. Often, this means looking through my review pile or backlog for a title that seems to fit, but if I can’t find one, I’m not afraid to spend precious reading time revisiting an old favorite. I’ve never quite understood readers, especially ones who avow to love reading as much as I do, who claim they simply don’t have the time to reread. Great books are about so much more than the initial experience; they beg to be returned to. They are our old friends, and there is so much hiding within their pages that we didn’t pick up on the first time or perhaps simply don’t remember.

As for what persuades me to read an author I’ve never tried before, reviews and comments from my fellow bloggers are almost the exclusive means by which I build my TBR pile. If my various websites or other reviewers liken an author to one who I have already read and loved, then chances are I’ll check out their work too. Rarely do I find a new author by browsing in the store. While I might spare reading time for old favorites, I’m wary of wasting time on books that catch my eye yet that I know nothing about. I do my research before I buy or request titles.

Leave a Reply

