Booking Through Thursday

Booking Through Thursday is a meme created at the blog of the same name that poses a different question about reading each week.

This week’s questions is: Series or Stand-alone?

Earlier this summer I posted an article in which I lamented the lost art of the standalone. I summed up the many reasons why I love reading singular titles as well as the benefits to becoming invested in a long-running series. For those who don’t want to read the whole post, I’ll simply recap and say that, while I’m in for the long haul with the series currently on my shelf, there’s a wonderful simplicity to being able to pick up a book and know the whole story before the day is through. While contemporary titles are easy to find as standalones, the fantasy genre seems thoroughly steeped in the series cash cow, especially for young adult titles.

One thought on “Booking Through Thursday

Leave a Reply

