Musing Mondays

Musing Mondays is a meme started over on Should Be Reading that presents a different literary-themed question every week.

This week’s question is: 

What are you currently reading? Is it any good? Would you recommend it?

Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

I’m between books at the moment, but I’ve got one of my absolute favorites queued up to read later this week. I recently discovered a young adult-focused book club that meets in my town. I have been meaning to join a book club for years. Yet every time someone reminded me of this fact, I would find excuses: the only ones I knew of were too far away, they only read general fiction, they met on days I was unavailable. Well, now I have no excuse to avoid book clubs as I found one close-by that meets on the weekend, particularly as this month’s selection is Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones. I first read Howl’s Moving Castle on a car trip a few years back, and I was shocked when we reached our destination because I had become so thoroughly engrossed in the story. Howl’s Moving Castle is witty and whimsical and so unexpected in its execution, and Howl is one of my favorite literary characters of all time.
While browsing through my regular book blogs this morning, I came across this wonderful post by The Readventurer comparing the book and film versions of Howl’s Moving Castle. I have to agree with the post: while I like the movie, the book will forever hold a special place in my heart. Even Christian Bale’s dulcet tones cannot eclipse the epic awe of Jones’s story as it unfolds on the page.

One thought on “Musing Mondays

Leave a Reply

