Book Beginnings on Fridays

Book Beginnings on Fridays is a meme hosted at Rose City Reader designed to feature the book you are reading right now by sharing the first few lines of the story.

This weekend I’m reading Confessions of an Angry Girl by Louise Rozett.

“‘Jamie. You gonna eat that? Jame. That bagel. You gonna eat it?

Confessions of an Angry Girl by Louise Rozett

‘Cause I’m really hungry, man. My mom threw me out before I could eat my cereal. And she didn’t give me a dime.”

I’m a fan of dialogue-heavy novels, so this one seems to be off to a good start.

Here’s the summary, taken from Goodreads:

Rose Zarelli, self-proclaimed word geek and angry girl, has some CONFESSIONS to make… #1: I’m livid all the time. Why? My dad died. My mom barely talks. My brother abandoned us. I think I’m allowed to be irate, don’t you?

#2: I make people furious regularly. Want an example? I kissed Jamie Forta, a badass guy who “might” be dating a cheerleader. She is now enraged and out for blood. Mine.

#3: High school might as well be Mars. My best friend has been replaced by an alien, and I see red all the time. (Mars is red and “seeing red” means being angry-get it?)

Here are some other vocab words that describe my life: Inadequate. Insufferable. Intolerable.

(Don’t know what they mean? Look them up yourself.) (Sorry. That was rude.)

One thought on “Book Beginnings on Fridays

  1. That certainly brings you right into the middle of the action~

    Rayme Waters – the author of my Book Beginnings book – guest posted on Rose City Reader today, explaining how the heroines of 19th Century literature inspired her debut novel, The Angels’ Share.

    It will give you a much different idea about the book than the opening sentence.

    Thanks for participating in Book Beginnings!

Leave a Reply

