Meandering Around the Interweb

In my various hours of wandering through book blogs far and wide, I’ve come across some pretty fantastic posts lately, so I thought I would spotlight my favorites. Hopefully I can make this a semi-regular feature, although my laziness will test the bounds of my determination to do so, so stay tuned for now.

  • Ever have difficulty picturing a character as you read? Well, next time you’re puzzling over how to visualize the characters in a steampunk work, have no fear. Prada has done all the work for us, producing a gorgeous photo-shoot starring Gary Oldman, Garrett Hedlund, Willem Dafoe, and Jamie Bell wearing all manner of gorgeous steampunk duds.
  • Obviously I’m unforgivably late in realizing that J.K. Rowling wrote this brief Harry Potter prequel. I know I’m not the only one upset that she has stated her intentions not to write a Maurauders-era book, but this just compounds the disappointment.
  • In more Harry Potter-related news, it seems Daniel Radcliffe is the latest of the films’ stars to hop on the music video bandwagon. I tend to agree with the writer of this article in finding DanRad’s performance a benefit to his resume. What do you guys think of Radcliffe’s, Grint’s, and Watson’s performances? Should they stick to film?
  • And since there’s never too much of a good thing, this weekend I’m hoping to try out some of these Harry Potter-inspired cocktails. Thankfully, there are plenty to choose from, because I’m having a hard time choosing which to try first.
  • If you’re like me, you tend to collect unusual words. Well, this article on 25 Handy Words That Simply Don’t Exist in English will give you a few more for your collection. I’m particularly partial to Forelsket and Waldeinsamkeit.
  • I’ve been reading a lot lately about New Adult, how it differs from Adult and Young Adult fiction, and whether it should be classified as its own genre. For the Love of Contemporary, Chachic, Megan Burke, and Catie at The Readventurer have all had their say on the topic. I’m still undecided on my stance; I’d say around half of my favorite “young adult” books technically fit the description for New Adult, but I’m not sure segmenting out a new genre would be a benefit or a hindrance.

Created by droll to echo

  • Tor’s newsletter is always a goldmine of goodies, and this week was no exception. Check out the amazing Sherlock-inspired medieval tapestries at droll to echo’s blog.
  • Emily at Emily’s Reading Room recently wrote a lovely article on what it means to be a member of the book blogging community.
  • Kathy at A Glass of Wine wrote a great post about whether characters have to be likable or not in order for us to sympathize with them as readers. While my initial inclination was to say yes, I have to admit that I do love many of the decidedly unlikable characters she’s mentioned.
  • Courtney Summers recently wrote a great comparison of the book and movie versions of The Woman in Black for The Readventurer. I’ve only seen the movie, and I quite liked it, but after reading what she has to say, I’m on the lookout for a copy of Hill’s classic novel to compare for myself.
  • And finally, I come across a lot of bookshelves that I covet, but this one is in a league of its own.

I hope everyone has a lovely weekend!

Leave a Reply

