Musing Mondays

Musing Mondays is a meme started over on Should Be Reading that presents a different literary-themed question every week.

This week’s question is: When you’re stuck for a book to read next, what do you do?

Ah, the dreaded book bind. You want to read, but you’re not really in the mood to read…well, anything.  This happens to me more than I would like to admit, usually when I’ve burned my way through all of the highly-anticipated additions to my TBR pile and am left with the ones that seem to be permanent residents.  Being a genre reader, I also often get stuck in a funk regarding particular genres.  I’ve got a bunch of urban fantasies lining my bookshelves that I definitely want to read at some point, yet that I haven’t felt the urge to pick up for months now.  Aside from my standby favorite series and authors, I find I have difficulty getting into a lot of urban fantasies lately.  Of course, I go through this phase repeatedly with my young adults, contemporaries, high fantasies, and historical romances as well.

The worst is when I am in a definite genre mood yet there doesn’t seem to be anything that fits the bill. This usually happens when I have a craving for a particular book that I loved, yet I don’t simply want to re-read; I want the experience of falling in love with a new world, new characters, and a new story. Usually when this happens, I’ll either give up on reading for the day and troll goodreads in search of more books that fit the genre, or I’ll give in and reread the book that inspired the mood in the first place. If I try to shoehorn a different genre into my reading schedule, the odds are good that I’ll have to put it aside for another day.

Leave a Reply

