Booking Through Thursday

Booking Through Thursday is a meme created at the blog of the same name that poses a different question about reading each week.

This week’s questions is: Who taught you to read?

I was one of those frightening children who could read nearly as soon as I could walk. That’s because my mother took it upon herself to teach me to read at around two years old.  I have vague recollections of looking through primer books while sitting on the living room sofa.  I think my mom also used to send me to the pantry to pick out cans of food. At the time, I thought this was a delightful game; little did I know my enterprising mother was simultaneously training me to become her own private scribe and sous chef.

Honestly, though, I do remember being rather bored during kindergarten classes in which other children were learning to spell their names. I was much more interested in climbing up into the reading loft and avoiding nap time. (Who decided that children should be made to sleep on towels on the hard floor in the middle of the day? What’s even sadder it is the fact that there’s little I wouldn’t give for a nap hour these days, but now that I finally want it, I’m denied).

Leave a Reply

