Musing Mondays

Musing Mondays is a meme started over on Should Be Reading that presents a different literary-themed question every week.

This week’s question is: Do you set goals for yourself while reading? For example, “I want to get this book finished this weekend,” or “I will read x pages today.” Why or why not?

I’d say that I do set goals for myself, although by and large they tend to be somewhat ambitious on a book-by-book level. I’m not a patient reader, and so if I start a book, I will endeavor to finish it that same day. For this reason, I don’t tend to set page-limit goals. However, I definitely set a goal for the number of books I wish to read in a given week. Thanks to the “It’s Monday! What are you reading?” meme that I participate in, every Monday I set out my week’s worth of desired reading. I have to admit, while organizing my reading schedule in this manner can be helpful in allowing me to scrutinize and prioritize my TBR pile, I often find that my mood has shifted by the time I actually get time to read. I’m not quite sure what my success rate is for reading the exact books I planned out for the week ahead, though I don’t think it ultimately matters as long as I’m consistent in getting some reading done, whatever form it happens to take.

Leave a Reply

