Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme created over at The Broke and the Bookish that allows us to list our top ten answers to a different question each week.

This week’s theme is: Top Ten Books On My Summer TBR List

While I’ve got more books lined up to read than I can keep track of, I’ve decided to limit this list to titles being released this summer.

1. Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore
I was lucky enough to win this in a content recently and am currently waiting for it to show up in my mailbox. I’ve heard lots of reviewers have loved this one, and just have many have been disappointed. At the very least, I’m excited to revisit with Katsa and Po.
2. Lothaire by Kresley Cole
I’ve been waiting for months for this one to be released in trade paperback. I love it when former villains are transformed into (anti)heroes, and Lothaire’s story has been a long time coming.
3. This Is Not a Test by Courtney Summers
I’ve never read anything by Summers before, but based on the stellar reviews I’ve read for this contemporary/zombie apocalypse hybrid, I might as well start with this one.
4. Once Burned by Jeaniene Frost
I adore nearly every character Frost creates, and Vlad is no exception. Early reviews for this one have been raving; some have even proclaimed it her best work to date. I can’t imagine what could possibly upstage Bones, so to say I’m excited for this release is a gross understatement.
5. Fever Moon by Karen Marie Moning
I’m not a huge graphic novel fan, especially when the treatment is applied to a beloved book series. I prefer to imagine the characters’ visages myself, minus the standard comic book caricatures. However, I’m giving this one a pass,  because it’s an original Mac and Barrons story.
6. Thirteen by Kelley Armstrong
I admit- I haven’t read the last two books in the Women of the Otherworld series. The witches have never been my favorite protagonists, and Savannah in particular has failed to capture my interest in previous installments. From what I’ve read, she hasn’t matured all that much even as the main narrator. However, given that this is the final book in the series and all my favorite characters (read: Clay and Elena) are scheduled to appear for a big showdown, it’s probably time I caught up.
7. Gunmetal Magic by Ilona Andrews
I’m not sure whether to be delighted or dismayed that two of my most anticipated releases happen to be spinoffs of favorite series (see Once Burned above). Andrea’s story is sure to be as high-octane as Kate’s usually are, and I’m anticipating some major development concerning a certain Bouda shapeshifter.
8. Enshadowed by Kelly Creagh
While I had plenty of criticisms to level at its predecessor, Nevermore, I can’t deny that I’m on pins and needles to see how the unexpected fallout of events plays out.
9. Endgame by Ann Aguirre
It’s been a long, tough road for Sirantha Jax, and I’m expecting nothing less than heartbreak in this final installment of the series. I can’t be the only one hoping that the endgame is in fact Sirantha and Vel, can I?
10. Raw Blue by Kirsty Eagar
There must be something in the water down under, because nearly every Aussie young adult contemporary in recent years has far outshone its peers. I’ve been waiting for this one to get its American release for ages.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Loved This is Not a Test. Totally different from Summers’ usual fare. I also really liked Some Girls Are-very disturbing “mean girls” book.

  2. I hate that Savannah is going to be the narrator for the last Women of the Otherworld book, she’s very grating.Can’t wait for Thirteen to come out though, going to miss it afterward it’s finished.

Leave a Reply

