Musing Mondays

Musing Mondays is a meme started over on Should Be Reading that presents a different literary-themed question every week.

This week’s question is: What is the longest book you have ever read? How long did it take you to read it?

I’m not one-hundred percent certain, but if I had to guess I’d say the longest book I have read was Anne Bishop’s Black Jewels Trilogy. At over 1200 pages, the omnibus edition was a beast even in paperback; I constantly had to keep shifting around to distribute the weight of the book in my lap. Still, I managed to finish it in just over twenty-four hours. (Needless to say, I didn’t accomplish a whole lot else during that day aside from sleeping and eating).

However, if omnibus editions don’t count (The Black Jewels Trilogy does comprise three books, after all), then my best guess at longest book read is Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke, coming in at over 1000 pages of torture. This was one of those books that looked right up my alley in theory, but in execution it was so dry that I had to force my way through in installments. Normally I would say ‘life is too short’ and throw in the towel, but for some reason the summer that I picked this book up I was determined to finish everything that I started. It took me around two weeks to get to the end, which is nearly an eternity for me. I shudder to think of all the other books that I could have read in that amount of time, but I suppose I’m glad to be able to say that I’ve read this one regardless.

Leave a Reply

