Beneath the Dust Jacket: Stardust by Neil Gaiman

Beneath the Dust Jacket is a new feature in which I spotlight some exceptionally pretty books and the little artistic details that set them apart.

It seems a little disingenuous to inaugurate this feature with a book that doesn’t even have a dust jacket, but since my new acquisition is undoubtedly the prized piece of my book collection so far, I had to share.

There’s a great little bookshop in town that specializes in rare and collectible books alongside the standard used book fare. We’re talking gilded spines, notes regarding authenticity, a section guarded with a red velvet rope, the whole works. As I was browsing said section last weekend, a tiny white book caught my eye, innocuously nestled between books three times its age. As soon as I saw it, I knew that I had found something I’ve been searching for for ages.

My friends, I finally have a signed Neil Gaiman. And not just any Neil Gaiman. No, I managed to snag a first edition signed ARC of Stardust, one of my favorite of his works.

Possibly the only thing better than the fact that it’s signed is that there is an inscription and, like the man himself, it’s lovely. I wonder who he was writing to, who he hoped would like it, who received his tidings of love. The mystery only adds to the wonder of it in my eyes.

One thought on “Beneath the Dust Jacket: Stardust by Neil Gaiman

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday « A Book and a Short Latte

Leave a Reply

