I think a celebration is in order…

Friends, I just received some awesome news. Now, before any of you go getting big ideas about what possible new series release/author appearance/other fantastic book-related news I might have to bear, I’ve got to tell you that my news is of the personal variety (and thus not very exciting to anyone but myself and a small group of friends and family). So what news do I have, you (maybe) ask? Well, I just received my grades for the past semester, and despite my worst fears that have been brewing for the better part of two months now, I actually did pretty well. Pretty well can be characterized as not horribly for one class in particular and as pretty darn great for the others, so I’ll admit that I’m proud of myself.

Now what does all this have to do with books? Well, I plan to celebrate tonight, if only to give myself a little pat on the back, and in the hour or so before my boyfriend arrives to take me off to dinner I’ve been brainstorming how I want to congratulate myself for a job well done. Sure, I could go out to a fancy dinner and order a celebratory cocktail, but in every dinner scenario that I dream up, I can’t help but fast forward to my inevitable after-dinner pitstop at the used bookstore. Really, the best way I can imagine to celebrate is to buy a new book to grace my shelves. Am I alone here? Am I the only one who likes to cap off an accomplishment by feeding my book-buying addiction? Surely there are others out there who yearn for elaborate literary-themed dinner parties instead of the standard night out at the bar. I can’t possibly be the only one who responds to an innocent pop-culture reference like this:

Via Sand & Glass

Via Sand & Glass

Via Sand & Glass

Via Sand & Glass

Are you out there, fellow book addicts? Or am I all alone in this endeavor? Does anyone else like to celebrate by buying a book (or reading one, for that matter)?

Alright, I’m off to make my celebratory book purchase, and I have no regrets.

4 thoughts on “I think a celebration is in order…

  1. Celebratory read indeed!

    Also, CONGRATS on your grades! That is awesome to hear!

    But yes, I’m totally with you! Praising your own success with a new book(s) or a new read is the ONLY way to celebrate. Perhaps with a cup of tea too. xD

    Faye

  2. Congrats! It’s always a relief to find you passed muster 😀 Look forward to see what you decided to get.

    Btw, I tend to buy books when I’m feeling down too – that’s my retail therapy LOL

Leave a Reply

