Booking Through Thursday

Booking Through Thursday is a meme created at the blog of the same name that poses a different question about reading each week.

This week’s questions is: Favorite secondary characters? (Note the plural)

Oh, goodness. Where to start?

Photo from The Leandros Lair at RobThurman.net

My first nomination has to go to Robin Goodfellow from Rob Thurman’s Cal Leandros series. Rob has proved over the years that he might be a seemingly carefree puck, but he’s also fiercely loyal to those he cares about and is a fearsome opponent to anyone who dares cross him. He’s also without a doubt one of the funniest characters I’ve ever had the pleasure of reading (and also probably one of the only ones to develop a fear of forks, deservedly so).

Second, I’ve got to go with the Marquis de Carabas from Neil

Marquis de Carabas by ~mlang. Click to view the rest of mlang’s deviantart gallery.

Gaiman’s Neverwhere. Elegant to the last and wonderfully ambiguous, the Marquis made an already amazing book into one of my all-time favorites. And while I’m sure that my mental image of him is not quite the same as what most people gleam from his description in the books (I lean toward the version from the graphic novels rather than the TV miniseries), the otherwordly quality of my version of the Marquis simply makes him that much more unforgettable.

Next, I’d be remiss not to mention Simon from Carolyn Crane’s Disillusionists series. From the moment he strutted on the scene, I knew I would

Trading Cards available on Carolyn Crane’s website. Click to view.

grow to love him. He’s the best kind of ally to read about, because he starts off the series in the villain category yet slowly, reluctantly falls in alongside the protagonist to help her along in her endeavors. I was fascinated to learn that Crane initially meant for him to be an enemy to Justine, but soon found that he wasn’t quite what she had expected.

Lastly, and certainly not least, are Neville Longbottom and Luna Lovegood from J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter books. While I love the golden trio, it’s this duo that makes me go back to the story time and again. Neville represents the best of you that emerges despite your own misgivings, and to me, he is the true hero of the series. He withstood similar (if not worse) experiences as Harry, could in fact have been the chosen one himself, yet without the same type of support system that Harry had, he overcame overwhelming adversity to win the battle. I don’t care what you say, it was his actions that ultimately defeated Voldemort. End rant.
As for Luna, what can I say? I envy her whimsical (yet unexpectedly pragmatic) outlook on life and her unerring ability to let the unpleasant bits roll off. She is quirky in an innate sense, rather than merely adopting the affect for appearance’s sake, and I hope I have a bit of her irreverently unique aspect about me. I share her love of creatures, especially the eccentric kind. And while I don’t quite have the coloring or the carriage to carry it off myself, I adore her fashion sense.
Leave a Reply

