Musing Mondays

Musing Mondays is a meme started over on Should Be Reading that presents a different literary-themed question every week.

This week’s question is: Do you have a reading goal for the year, such as __ books? Why or why not?

I do have a book number goal, actually. Last year, I read just shy of 175 books. This year, I set my goal at 200, and as of right now, I’ve read 129 books toward that goal, so I’m pretty much on track.

As for content, I was hoping to read more classics this year that, for some reason or another, I hadn’t gotten around to yet. The remaining three Jane Austen books (Emma, Mansfield Park, and Sense and Sensibility), Jack Kerouac’s Maggie Cassidy and The Dharma Bums, and Dumas’s The Count of Monte Cristo are all at the top of the list, but sadly I’ve not managed a one yet. I made it a page and a half into Mansfield Park a week or so ago before deciding that my brain simply wasn’t in Regency mode.

Leave a Reply

