Booking Through Thursday

Booking Through Thursday is a meme created at the blog of the same name that poses a different question about reading each week.

This week’s questions is:  If you could write a book, what would it be about, and why?

If I had any worthwhile idea for a novel rattling around in my head, it wouldn’t be a matter of “if” I wrote it; I’d be working on it as I spoke (or typed, rather). I’ve wanted to write a novel for ages, but to my eternal frustration and regret, I’m not blessed with an imaginative streak that runs to creative writing. The most I have ever managed is an extremely short story here and there, but I’ve never come up with an idea that would be capable of sustaining an entire story arc. The only thing that I do know is that, regardless of the genre that the story ultimately wound up in, it would contain romance, the slow-burn kind that is conveyed through subtle actions rather than words. My two favorite romantic tropes are love-hate and friend-who-could-be-more (odd, since they are on opposite ends of the romantic spectrum), so I’m sure that either one or the other would characterize the main characters, but aside from that, I have no idea. I’ll just have to keep reading and blogging in the meantime, and hope that some day a recessive writing gene kicks in.

Leave a Reply

