Bookish Goodies

The only things I love buying more than books are things related to books and writing. I’ve accumulated a number of book-related trinkets over the past month or so, but I don’t like to include non-book items in my Showcase Sunday post. So with some time on my hands today, I thought I would do a little photo shoot to show off my pretties.

Ever attentive to my literary obsessions, my boyfriend surprised me with this beautiful glass ornament filled with strips of lines from Jane Eyre. You can find your own ornament filled with quotations from your favorite novel at Excessively Diverting’s Etsy store.

While I’ve always been somewhat of a sporadic journal writer, I do endeavor. There’s nothing quite like filling a blank page with scrawling black script of your own musings. Yet try as I might, I just can’t devote the time I’d like to journal writing. I’ve been lusting after Keel’s Simple Diary for about a year now, so when I walked into Anthropologie earlier this week during their super sale to find it discounted, I knew the time had come. The fact that the saleswoman greeted me at the door with croissants and mimosas didn’t hurt, either. I’m still making more of an effort to write actual journal entries, but it’s nice to have this as an alternative for writing prompts. I especially love that each color diary comes with its own welcome page; when I saw that olive green encouraged me to “let a little science fiction into [my] life,” I knew it was the one for me.

Another long-time lust, and another sale, this time in an unexpected place. I’ve been wanting one of these author-scented candles for a while now. How could I not want something that smells not just like a library, but like a specific author? Needless to say, I was thrilled to find this Dickens candle on sale at a local independent furniture store.

Though I found them in the children’s section, I couldn’t resist buying these fairy-tale themed pencils for only $3. I’ve always been a sucker for pencils with natural wood finish and white erasers. Add a silvery message telling me “don’t forget to write,” and I’m sold.

One last long-time love, I’ve coveted these Penguin Books mugs for ages. Imagine my delight upon finding an entire Penguin Books goods display in my local bookstore. Canteens, notebooks, luggage tags: I didn’t know where to start. I was ready to purchase an On the Road luggage tag when I spotted this beauty peeking out from the very back. My new favorite mug for my forever-favorite book, it was love at first sight.

I’m always telling myself to write more snail mail, and thanks to the adorable notecards in Michaels’s dollar section, now I have no reason not to.

Leave a Reply

