Musing Mondays

Musing Mondays is a meme started over on Should Be Reading that presents a different literary-themed question every week.

This week’s question is: What do you do with the book before you start reading it?

Without fail, I flip to the back of the book and skim the last few pages. I can’t help it; it’s a compulsion. I need to know that there will be a payoff after investing myself in hundreds of pages of prose, or at least prepare myself for the worst so I’m steeled against disappointment. Other than that, I usually take a few minutes to admire the cover, check to see if I’ve picked up a signed copy unexpectedly (it’s happened more times than you’d imagine), and remove the dust-jacket if it’s a hardcover, because I can’t stand the thought of tearing it. Then I park myself in a café or in my favorite blue chair and settle in for a few quiet hours.

One thought on “Musing Mondays

  1. I’ll admit it, I do the same thing. I just need to know how it ends, sometimes when I read the ending I can’t bring myself to read the book if I am really unhappy about it. Now this has happened less and less now that I have my Kindle, but when I am at a brick-and-mortar you can be sure I know how something is going to end before I walk out of the store with it. It’s horrible.

Leave a Reply

