Musing Mondays

Musing Mondays is a meme started over on Should Be Reading that presents a different literary-themed question every week.

This week’s question is: What are you currently reading? And, is it better, as good as, or worse than your last read?

I’m in between books at the moment, but I did just finish The Hunger Games trilogy, the first two of which were rereads for me. I reviewed them here, in large part as a response to having just seen the movie. I thought it would be interesting to read them again after having seen it visually, especially since I only got around to reading The Hunger Games and Catching Fire on the first go around. I’m glad I waited until after watching the movie to reread the books, because I’m sure I would have been unbearably nitpicking about all of the tiny details they had changed otherwise. As it was, I was actually quite impressed by the film adaptation; though it had been four years since I read the first book, overall, the movie played out nearly exactly as I remembered experiencing it in my head while reading. Of course, there were some big departures that I discovered upon revisiting the book, but I didn’t feel that they were significant enough to alter the story fundamentally and thought that many of the additions regarding the Capitol members helped to enhance Collins’ message in a way that first-person narration in the novels didn’t allow for.

7 thoughts on “Musing Mondays

Leave a Reply

