Musing Mondays

Musing Mondays is a meme started over on Should Be Reading that presents a different literary-themed question every week.

This week’s question is: What is/are the first book(s) you’re reading for the new year?

I’m starting this new year off with the continuation of my favorite story from last year. I’ve put off reading The Shadow Queen by Anne Bishop for quite some time until I could find its sequel, Shalador’s Lady. While I expected an exciting return to the world of the Black Jewels and was looking forward to reading about Cassie’s story, I can’t believe that I was unaware that these books are not just a new look into the familiar world of the Black Jewels Trilogy, but are in fact focused quite heavily on Jaenelle, Daemon, Saetan, Lucivar, and all of my other favorite characters from previous novels. I’ve just finished The Shadow Queen and am giddy to be back with characters I hold so dear to me.

Leave a comment