Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme created over at The Broke and the Bookish that allows us to list our top ten answers to a different question each week.

This week’s theme is: Top Ten Books That Are On The Top Of My TBR List For Fall

1.Death Magic by Eileen Wilks

The World of the Lupi is a consistently underrated series. Half romance, half urban fantasy with a slash of detective thrown in, Wilks’s books are no fluffy throwaway read.

2. One Grave at a Time by Jeaniene Frost

Cat and Bones are at the top of my PNR list and always will be. I know that a lot of readers are worried about whether Frost can sustain the tension now that Cat and Bones are settled into wedded bliss, but I for one hope that she resists the urge to manufacture some drama. I enjoy reading about a happy couple, and it’s guaranteed that Frost has some new adventures up her sleeve for our favorite couple.

3. Heart of Steel by Meljean Brook

While I’ve never been able to get into her Guardian series, The Iron Seas books deliver on all fronts for me: great characters, fantastic worldbuilding, exciting and unpredictable plots. My favorite steampunk romance series so far.

4. Aftermath by Ann Aguirre

Jax’s journey is drawing to a close. With only two books left in the series, and a decision at the end of the last book that will have massive repercussions for Jax and those she holds dear, I’m sure Aguirre will put us through the wringer before Jax and co. can finally rest.

5. The Bite Before Christmas by Jeaniene Frost and Lynsay Sands

What? More Cat and Bones only a month after One Grave at a Time? We must have been good this year. Thumbs up for a new Sands story as well; though I haven’t kept up with her Argeneau series, she always delivers a fun and sexy read. (I just wished these two talented authors had been graced with a better cover.)

6. One Salt Sea by Seanan McGuire

I suspect that I may actually do a happy dance down the bookstore aisle next week when I finally have this one in my hands. Quite possibly my most anticipated release for the year; I have my fingers crossed for some Toby-Tybalt development once and for all, and more Luidaeg!

7. Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

Anna and the French Kiss was perfection. I’m so glad I listened to early reviews and forced myself to look past the hideous title and even more hideous cover, for Perkins knows how to write the type of story women daydream about while still infusing her protagonist with enough substance to garner respect.

8. The Rift Walker by Susan and Clay Griffith

I’ve been counting down the days til this release since turning the last page of The Greyfriar months ago. Both the Greyfriar and Adele are compelling characters, and the setting unlike any I’ve encountered, mixing urban fantasy, steampunk, and apocalyptic elements into a terrifying landscape.

9. Saving June by Hannah Harrington

I’ve heard nothing but good things from my fellow book bloggers over in Australia about this title. This may actually top my TBR list at the moment.

10. Froi of the Exiles by Melina Marchetta

As I mentioned last week, after finishing Finnikin of the Rock, I’m eagerly awaiting the next in the series. Marchetta draws me in time and again, whether writing contemporary or fantasy.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. I am a big big big fan of Marchetta’s contemporary books (Saving Francesca, Jellicoe Road, etc.) but for some reason Finnikin of the Rock just didn’t wow me at all :(

    • I agree, I tend to like her contemporary books better. But for the fantasy genre, I still found something compelling about Finnikin and am interested to see where she takes the characters in the next installment. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

Leave a Reply

