Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme created over at The Broke and the Bookish that allows us to list our top ten answers to a different question each week.

This week is a free week; the top ten list opportunities are boundless. But since I’m short on time and always happy for an excuse to post pretty pictures on my blog, I’m going to recycle a past top ten:

Top Ten Favorite Book Covers

Since I could likely fill an entire notebook with names of books whose covers I fancy, I limited myself to those that are currently on my shelves.

1. Wanderlust by Ann Aguirre

I love all the covers for the Sirantha Jax series. While they offer up an image of a strong heroine, as do many scifi/fantasy series nowadays, the drawn style is unique and never overly suggestive, which can’t be said for many of the series’s UF counterparts. I particularly love this cover since it actually bows to the story line, altering her appearance in accordance with certain events.

2. The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly

I adore intricate line work, so this paper-cutting style cover immediately drew my attention. The fact that the story incorporates countless fairy tales doesn’t hurt either.

3. Deerskin by Robin McKinley

Much like the story itself, this cover is at once hauntingly lovely and slightly eerie. My favorite of all of McKinley’s covers.

4. Clockwork Heart by Dru Pagliasotti

While the cover model doesn’t quite flesh out the descriptions of the story’s protagonist, I love how the artist’s choice in color palette and subtle details evokes the setting and atmosphere that are central to the story.

5. Shadowfever by Karen Marie Moning

Honestly, there isn’t much more I can say about how much I love this series, other than to point out that this is one of my most prized books. The cover is beyond beautiful, a work of art in itself, and at the same time manages to be relevant to the story. And now I have an excuse to post it yet again.

6. Tithe by Holly Black

Honestly, I’m not head over heels for this series, but I can’t deny that the cover is great. Gritty and otherworldly, it sets the tone for the novel before you even turn the first page.

7. Late Eclipses by Seanan McGuire

My Chris McGrath love is already well documented on this blog, so I will simply pick out one of my favorites. Love that Toby’s dress matches her attire in the story, and that through it all, Tybalt’s jacket remains perched on her shoulders.

8. Wither by Lauren DeStefano

I’ll admit, I’m not quite sure what the presence of some of the items on this cover is meant to signify, but it doesn’t matter. The cover manages to convey the dichotomy that runs throughout the book, beauty and dilapidation side by side.

9. Alien Tango by Gini Koch

The cartoonish style fits this series to a T. It’s a pleasure finishing each book only to study the cover and pick out each plot element that went unnoticed at first. The only thing that bothers me about these covers is the fact that Kitty’s hair inexplicably changes color time and again.

10. Dreams Made Flesh by Anne Bishop

I love this one not because it offers up any truly stunning imagery; really, for those who hadn’t read The Black Jewels Trilogy already, I doubt many would be drawn in just by looking at the cover. Yet somehow, this cover manages to capture the indefinable setting of the Black Jewels universe so well for me. It is at once olden and modern, perfectly anachronistic yet utterly right.

Leave a Reply

